The Shirley Jackson Awards


illustration-for-fabulous-beasts-by-jeffrey-alan-loveI am tremedously proud to be included in the novelette category for the Shirley Jackson Awards 2105 with Fabulous Beasts which appeared on in July 2015. I can’t say thank you enough to my editor Ellen Datlow  (who is also nominated for The Doll Collection- see below) and for taking this story.

The gorgeous artwork is by Jeffrey Alan Love.

Shirley Jackson wrote the marvellous The Haunting of Hill House and We Always Lived in the Castle, as well as numerous short stories including The Lottery which appeared in The New Yorker in 1948.

“In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards were established in 2007 for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.”  (From the Shirely Jackson Awards website)

Nominees and the final winners are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics and academics.

Massive congratulations to all the 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards nominees:


Eileen, Ottessa Moshfegh (Penguin Press)

Experimental Film, Gemma Files (ChiZine Publications)

The Glittering World, Robert Levy (Gallery)

Lord Byron’s Prophecy, Sean Eads (Lethe Press)

When We Were Animals, Joshua Gaylord (Mulholland Books)



The Box Jumper, Lisa Mannetti (Smart Rhino)

In the Lovecraft Museum, Steve Tem (PS Publishing)

Unusual Concentrations, S.J. Spurrier (Simon Spurrier)

The Visible Filth, Nathan Ballingrud (This Is Horror)

Wylding Hall, Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing-UK/Open Road Media-US)



“The Briskwater Mare,” Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children, Twelfth Planet Press)

“The Deepwater Bride,” Tamsyn Muir (Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, July-August 2015)

“Even Clean Hands Can Do Damage,” Steve Duffy (Supernatural Tales #30, Autumn)

“Fabulous Beasts,” Priya Sharma (, July 2015)

“The Thyme Fiend,” Jeffrey Ford (, March 2015)



“A Beautiful Memory,” Shannon Peavey (Apex Magazine)

“Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers,” Alyssa Wong (Nightmare)

“Seven Minutes in Heaven,” Nadia Bulkin (Aickman’s Heirs)

“The Dying Season,” Lynda E. Rucker (Aickman’s Heirs)

“Wilderness,” Letitia Trent (Exigencies)



The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, Stephen King (Scribner)

The End of the End of Everything, Dale Bailey (Arche Press)

Get in Trouble, Kelly Link (Random House)

Gutshot, Amelia Gray (FSG Originals)

The Nameless Dark – A Collection, T.E. Grau (Lethe Press)

You Have Never Been Here, Mary Rickert (Small Beer Press)



Aickman’s Heirs, edited by Simon Strantzas (Undertow Publications)

Black Wings IV, edited by S.T. Joshi (PS Publishing)

The Doll Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow (Tor)

Exigencies, edited by Richard Thomas (Dark House Press)

Seize the Night, edited by Christopher Golden (Gallery)

Tagged , , ,

13 thoughts on “The Shirley Jackson Awards

  1. S.P. Miskowski says:

    Excellent news. Congratulations!

  2. rosannera says:

    Congratulations! I’ve just congratulated you on Facebook as well…

  3. owlwoman says:

    Serious and mega congratulations. An excellent story, deserves to be there.

  4. stevenjdines says:

    Wonderful news, Priya. And well deserved. Congratulations. You rock, my Queen 🙂

  5. Laura Mauro says:

    superb news, and no less than you deserve 🙂

  6. george says:

    So well deserved! Hope you win!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: