Predictions

In my post “2015” I mentioned a few things I’d particulary enjoyed that year.

Black Static 48I praised Cate Gardner‘s “The Bureau of Them” and “When the Moon Man Knocks”, both of which have received British Fantasy Award nominations.

Ditto Kelly Robson for “The Waters of Versailles” for which she is a finalist for the World Fantasy Award, the Nebula Award, and the Prix Aurora Award.  (Her short story “The Three Resurrections of Jessica Churchill” is a Illustration for Kelly Robson's Waters of Versaille by Kathleen Jenningsfinalist for the 2016 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award).

It’s even more tremendous when you consider that Kelly only made her debut in markets like Clarkesworld, Tor and Asimov’s in 2015.

On the same theme, I am very much looking foward to Issue 54 of Black Static out  in September as it will contain “Perspective”, Steve J Dines’ new novelette. I am expecting heaps of darkness if his last few stories are anything to go by.

I am now tagging my predictions. Sadly my attempts at foretelling the National Lottery numbers have been less successful.

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “Predictions

  1. stevenjdines says:

    Sorry I didn’t clinch a nom or some other story-related success – I do try 🙂 Congrats to Cate, though! And thank you for mentioning ‘Perspective.’ It’s definitely dark, and it will upset some readers, I’m sure, but I hope the majority will find something of value in it. Fingers crossed.

  2. stevenjdines says:

    Congratulations to Kelly Robson, too.

  3. Laura Mauro says:

    I sincerely hope you’re right about Cate – how good would a double win be?

Leave a Reply

