A Review of Datlow’s The Best Horror of the Year Volume Eight

Thanks to Keith West at Adventures Fantastic for his review of Ellen Datlow’s The Best Horror of the Year Volume 8.

Datlow is one of the most accomplished editors in the field.  I know that any project, whether The-Best-Horror-of-the-Year-Volume-Eight-Ellen-Datlowreprint or original, will have a top-notch selection of stories.  That’s the case here.  Not every story was to my taste, but then I don’t expect them to.  The only anthology that will be completely to my taste will be one I’ve edited, and maybe not even then…Datlow has a deep love and respect for Lovecraft, and it shows in her selections.  Several of them had Lovecraftian elements.  All of the stories are top-notch, though, whether they have anything to do with HPL.  In scanning back over them as I was writing the above paragraphs, I was struck by how many of the stories I really liked.  Narrowing my list was harder than I thought it would be. Keith West.

Read the full review here to find out which stories were Keith’s favourites.

 

 

 

 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “A Review of Datlow’s The Best Horror of the Year Volume Eight

  1. Reblogged this on tomjohnstone and commented:
    A review of Best Horror of the Year # 8!

Leave a Reply

